Tucson Marathon Relay major ‘FEAT’ for TMC employees

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

TMC fielded 10 teams at the Holualoa Tucson Marathon Relay this past Sunday, Dec. 8, as part of the first event for the TMC Fit Employee Ambassador Team, or FEAT.

I am overwhelmed by the success of the entire team,” said Amy Mattox, employee wellness specialist, who organizes FEAT efforts. “My hope was that we’d all get together and do something great, but I had no idea how much effort and heart they would all put into it! The incredible teamwork, the amazing attitudes, and the way we all cheered each other to the finish…it was truly inspirational for us all.”

Each relay team consisted of four runners and walkers who covered the entire Tucson Marathon course by working together. The first leg was 5.9 miles, the second leg 6.6 miles, the third leg 6.4 miles, and the final leg was 7.3 miles to the finish line. The teams could be all male, all female or co-ed.

“All 10 teams of four finished strong (three teams came in under 4 hours!),” Mattox said. “And both Dianna Desborough and Michelle Spohn finished the full 26.2 miles, finding encouragement along the way from the other teammates in our matching TMC teal team shirts. It was quite the sight!”

TMC FEAT participants could take advantage of an eight-week 10K training plan that started in October. There were also weekly core workouts on campus geared especially for runners.

2015 holds even more promise for FEAT, according to Mattox.

“I absolutely cannot wait to grow this team throughout 2015, getting more TMC employees involved in FEAT, as we inspire each other. Together, we can reach our goals. This group proved that this past weekend, and they’re already asking: ‘What’s next?!’ ”

Hats off to FEAT members: Mary Atkinson, Kathryn Beals, Stacey Bell, Alix Bennet, Sue Bingham, Darby Conroy, Allan Curry, Martha Demer, Dianna Desborough, Crystal Elefante, Ramon Figueroa, Rebecca Fitzpatrick, Christina Franklin, Jeremy Friezen, Ruth Galvon De Ramirez, Michael Gatwood, Benjamin Gerkin, Amy Hill, Ohia Hodges, Kim Huffman, Lisa Kobran, Patti Kubista, Pat Ledin, Fabian Lucero, Frank Marini, Jessica Markley, Dennis McKinney, Damhnait McLaughlin, William Meyer, Alysha Molina, Jessica Monroe, Scott Morris, Philip Moya, Marcia Obara, Barbara Philipp, Chris Ritchey, Michelle Spohn, Julia Strange, Rachel Tineo, Alexis Vasquez, Jenn Waugaman and Danica Williams.

Leave a Reply

Tucson Medical Center | 5301 E. Grant Road | Tucson, Arizona 85712 | (520) 327-5461
%d bloggers like this: